Your Privacy Matters: We use our own and third-party cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to use the website we understand that you accept their use. Cookie Policy
igGrid - Cascading Combo - Remote Datasource - MVC Helper
posted

Hi,

I've been using Winforms Infragistics controls for years and I'm now moving onto using the IgniteUI controls for some web apps we're developing.  I'm new to the web side of things so I'm struggling to find examples and understand what I need to do (programmatically) to achieve my objectives.

I've been trying to get the cascading combo's to work in the grid but have come up against several issues that I can't seem to resolve from the documentation.  Pretty much most of the documentation referring to my issues relate to javascript solutions not the MVC helper.

I've attached sample code to support the following.

I have a grid with the DataSourceUrl set to "/Home/GetCompartmentData/".  It loads the grid fine.

I have 4 combos:

• Species - DataSourceUrl "Home/GetSpeciesData"
  • YM - DataSourceUrl "Home/GetYMData"
  • YC - DataSourceUrl "Home/GetYCData"
  • PS - DataSourceUrl "Home/GetPSData"

Issues:

1. The grid doesn't show the Text key only the Id. 
  2. When you click on the combo for the first time it blanks the selection and therefore doesn't show the item selected in the list.  If you click on the same field in another row the item is then selected and the Text key is displayed.  If you click out of the cell the Text Key gets replaced by the Id. 

The Species combo displays two columns.  There are an additional 2 columns hidden that relate to the other combos.

Species data model:

• SpeciesCode
  • Description
  • YMSpecies
  • PSSpecies

When you click on the YM combo it should filter to the YMSpecies of the selected Species.  The YM data model has a Species field to filter on.